Welcome Guest | Sunday, September 24, 2017 03:08 PM Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page | Register | Log in  
Who We Are

Related Links



 Log in Problems?
 New User? Sign Up!


35th Annual RYC Regatta Results
Posted by: ABurkland on Wednesday, July 06, 2011 - 10:13 PM
Fourth of July wins 35th Annual RYC Regatta

The 2011 RYC Regatta was held June 25 and 26 with fair winds under mostly overcast skies. The start on Saturday was postponed for a few hours due to rain. But once the weather cleared, sailing conditions were nearly ideal the remainder of the weekend. With seven boats registered, the long-distance racers started down-wind in 8-12 kts which persisted throughout the race with an occasional gust over 18 kts. The 'highly experienced' crew of Fourth of July handled these conditions very well, sailing to a 1st Place on corrected time. The racers were challenged with two Olympic style buoy courses on Sunday, again with fair winds in the 8 to 12 kt range. The first race was resolved to a battle between Drifter (Samuelson family in Ranger 33) and Fourth of July (Anderson and his 'experienced crew'). Drifter took top honors in Race One by beating Fourth of July at the last mark rounding. Great stuff!! The final race of the Regatta was won handily by Speak Boat Spike (Jeff Moses in the Santana 20), who let everyone to the first mark and held on to win on corrected time. Thanks to Linda Westgate for keeping the Race Chair on track, and to David Howie for lending his pontoon boat for the Sunday buoy races.

Sailboat Racing
Export Pdf | Refer a Friend | Print Version

35th Annual RYC Regatta Results | Log-in or register a new user account | 0 Comments
Comments are statements made by the person that posted them.
They do not necessarily represent the opinions of the site editor.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2008 by Rathbun Yacht Club
Rathbun Yacht Club is a member of the Yachting Club of American

Page created in 0.326265 Seconds